CodeTogether Plans & Pricing
Frequently Asked Questions
How does CodeTogether protect my data?
CodeTogether utilizes a number of measures to safeguard your code. Regardless of which plan you choose, CodeTogether uses end-to-end encryption to protect your data from unauthorized access.
When you use CodeTogether on the Cloud, our edge servers route the source payloads; however, the encryption key is never shared with our server. Only necessary functional requests are relayed to host systems, resulting in more performant sessions and reducing the amount of source code that is transferred between systems. You get peace of mind knowing that the source remains on your system and is never transferred to our servers or any remote repository.
When you use CodeTogether On-Premises, you’ll be able to deploy your own instance of CodeTogether on your intranet. Your data never needs to traverse the Internet, unless you want it to. And if you use regional edge servers, CodeTogether uses a session locator to ensure optimal server locations are used. See the FAQ for additional details.
Refer to CodeTogether Security for additional details on how we keep your code safe.
Who can use the communication tools in a session?
All guests have access to the communication tools. You can also invite guests who only have access to the communication tools (aka A/V guests) and not the actual code—perfect for getting customer feedback. The number of allowed A/V guests in a session is equal to the number of allowed guests in the session. For instance, a free tier session can have 3 guests, plus an additional 3 A/V guests.
Is the Free plan available for commercial use?
Yes. The Free plan is available for both personal and commercial use.
Do I have to pay for every user in a session with a Teams plan?
No, you can share the session URL with guests and they can join the session from a browser or their IDE. This can be a great option for quick code reviews. Non-team member guests will have access for the full session duration, however, all team-only functionality is unavailable, including advanced features like write access terminals and shared servers.
What advanced functionality do I get for team members on a Teams plan?
The following features are only available to team members:
- Write-access to terminals—All participants can view the host’s terminals; however, only team members have write access to the terminal. The host always determines which participants have access to terminals.
- Shared servers—Hosts can share servers with team members for testing web apps without deploying, or even relaying a remote debug session, database connections or web sockets.
- Team-focused UI—The CodeTogether view now includes a nice overview of all of your teams and remote sessions, allowing you to quickly add a new team, join an existing team, or join a remote session. Plus, with just a click of the mouse you can ask other team members to join a session or even start a new one.
- Added security—On the Cloud version, you have the option to add an extra level of security by only allowing team members to join a session. Even if you allow non-team members to join a session, you can prohibit them from driving, editing files, or running launches and unit tests.
What is the difference between joining directly or with a URL?
Team members have the option to join directly from the CodeTogether view or using the session URL. As long as the team member is logged in, they will have access to all features, including advanced functionality.
If you choose, you can allow non-team members to join for free via the session URL. Non-team members will not have access to advanced functionality. In addition, you can restrict edit access to non-team members so they remain in an observation mode only.
Can I tailor an On-Premises plan to meet my needs?
Yes, we understand different organizations have different needs and offer a variety of pricing levels. If your organization requires a greater number of sessions/users than our starter plan offers, we offer additional plans as shown below. To get a quote or make a purchase, contact us.
Note: Multi-server deployments are recommended for larger installations with 100 or more users in active sessions, both to increase reliability and responsiveness, as well as open up the possibility for regional servers for lower latency as part of the same price. Additional benefits of Enterprise deployment include: persistent audit and usage metrics, redundancy and regional edge servers, and zero session downtime upgrades.
|Users in Active Sessions||Total Users||Single Server Installation Price||Enterprise Deployment Price|
What is the difference between “total users” and “users in active sessions” for the On-Premises plan?
Total users refers to the number of users that are authorized to use the CodeTogether servers (i.e., the total number of developers that use CodeTogether). The base plan includes 100 total users who can optionally be organized into small teams to facilitate collaboration. Users on the same CodeTogether team will be able to see each other in the CodeTogether view, where they can invite other teammates to a session and securely join a teammate’s running session, unlocking more restricted services including write-access to Terminals.
Users in active sessions refers to the number of users that are in CodeTogether collaboration sessions. All On-Premises plans allow 25% of total users to be active at a time. For example, if your plan includes 100 total users, a maximum of 25 users can be active in sessions at the same time. This could be 1 session with 1 host and 24 participants, 5 different sessions with 1 host and 4 participants in each, or any other combination until the maximum number is reached. Once the maximum number is reached, additional users will not be able to join a session until someone leaves a session.
Why total users and active sessions? We recognize that in most teams only a subset of users will be pairing at any given time. To keep pricing low, we based our price points on the number of active sessions. If you require more than 25% of your total users to be in active pairing sessions, purchase the corresponding plan to meet your needs. If unsure, purchase the plan based on your number of developers and you can upgrade at any time for the prorated difference.